Hinneburg Named Big 12 Preseason Co-Freshman of the Year

Published 08/06 2013 10:19PM

Updated 08/06 2013 10:55PM

Texas Tech Media Relations/Norvelle Kennedy
LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech freshman Victoria Hinneburg was named the Big 12 Preseason Co-Freshman of the Year on Tuesday, marking the first time a Red Raider has ever garnered the award.
Hinneburg, a native of Leipzig, Germany, is just the third Red Raider to earn a conference preseason award, joining Colleen Smith (1999) and Justine Young (2010) who were both named the league’s Newcomer of the Year.
“It is a nice sense of growth to have Victoria recognized by the Big 12 coaches,” Tech head coach Don Flora said. “She is an athlete who brings an elite skill set to the program. We believe this is a quality sign of the programs continued progress.”
Hinneburg will provide the Red Raiders additional length and immediate offensive presence at the net as she arrives in Lubbock as one of the top overseas prospects in the 2013 class.
The 6-4 freshman competed for several of the top youth volleyball clubs in her native Germany where she was part of three youth championship teams, including the 2012 squad that was part of the prestigious Dresdner volleyball organizations.
Hinneburg shared the award with Kansas State’s Katie Brand while Texas’ Haley Eckerman was tabbed the conference preseason favorite for Player of the Year. The awards along with the All-Big 12 preseason team was determined by a vote of the conference coaches.
The Red Raiders report for the 2013 season this Friday evening with a team meeting prior to its first set of practices on Saturday afternoon. Tech opens the season on Aug. 30 at the Wildcat Invitational hosted by Weber State.
The Big 12 will announce its preseason poll on Wednesday.
Player of the Year: Haley Eckerman, Texas, OH, 6-3, Jr., Waterloo, Iowa/East
Freshman of the Year: Katie Brand, Kansas State, S, 6-1, Grand Island, Neb./Central Catholic
Victoria Hinneburg, Texas Tech, MB, 6-4, Leipzig, Germany/Sportgymnasium Dresden
Name, School
Zoe Adom, Bayloer
Mackenzie Bigbee, Iowa State
Kristen Hahn, Iowa State ^
Victoria Hunt, Iowa State ^
Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas ^
Sara McClinton, Kansas
Erin McNorton, Kansas
Kaitlynn Pelger, Kansas State ^
Kierra Holst, Oklahoma
Sallie McLaurin, Oklahoma ^
Yvonne Igodan, TCU ^
Khat Bell, Texas ^
Haley Eckerman, Texas ^
Bailey Webster, Texas^
^ - denotes unanimous selection

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.