Neslony Named Olson Award Finalist

Published 06/07 2014 12:42AM

Updated 06/07 2014 12:55AM

(Texas Tech Press Release: Scott Lacefield)

LUBBOCK, Texas –
Texas Tech sophomore outfielder Tyler Neslony (Corpus Christi, Texas) is one of 12 players in the country named a finalist for the Gregg Olson Breakout Player of the Year Award, a national honor given to a top amateur baseball player who elevates his game to an elite level throughout the season.
Neslony becomes the first Big 12 player to be named a finalist for the award, which is now in its second year. In addition, he is one of just three outfielders in the nation that have been named a finalist.
Neslony leads all players in the Big 12 with a .393 batting average (57-for-145) with 28 runs, 12 doubles, four triples, four home runs (two grand slams), 31 RBI and has 20 walks with only 14 strikeouts with a .476 on-base percentage and .614 slugging percentage.
Neslony tallied a 19-game hit streak that was snapped in Tech’s second game at the NCAA Coral Gables Regional. It is the longest hit streak by a Big 12 player this season and is the longest by a Red Raider since 2004 (Cameron Blair – 20).
He began his collegiate career at Tech in 2013 as a freshman batting .227 (10-for-44) in 20 games (10 starts) with four doubles and seven RBI.
Last season, Texas Tech right-handed pitcher Trey Masek was named a semifinalist for the award.
The award, presented by Toolshed Sports, is named after former Auburn star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All-American, first-round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and Major League Baseball All-Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.
The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25.
C Will Allen, Ole Miss
2B Jace Conrad, UL-Lafayette
P Tyler Davis, Washington
P Mike Franco, FIU
UTL Casey Jones, Elon
P Nathan Kirby, Virginia
P Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State
OF Jordan Luplow, Fresno State
P Sam Moore, UC Irvine
OF Tyler Neslony, Texas Tech
C Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State
OF Drew Weeks, North Florida

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.