Hospice of Lubbock Volunteer Honored for Outstanding Service 2017

Regional Organization presents awards to local advocate

LUBBOCK, TX (NEWS RELEASE) - One Hospice of Lubbock (HoL) volunteer was recognized by the Texas New Mexico Hospice Organization (TNMHO) as the 2017 Hospice Advocate recipient. Katie Salter received the award Feb. 24 at the TNMHO annual conference in Houston. Hers was one of only three awards given by the organization this year; lifetime achievement, hospice of the year and the hospice advocate award.

Salter serves as a direct patient care volunteer, the 2017 Mayors’ Beans & Cornbread Luncheon chair, and has just completed her terms on the Hospice of Lubbock Board of Directors.

Beginning as a hospice volunteer in December 2008, she assisted with the Kids’ Christmas Party.

“After the event, Katie knew she was hooked and wanted to be a part of our team,” said Charley Wasson, HoL executive director. “Katie went through Direct Patient Volunteer classes in 2010 and has worked in numerous roles as a volunteer and hospice supporter. Over the years she had dedicated more than 1,500 volunteer hours to our organization.”

Salter just completed her second term on the Hospice of Lubbock Board of Directors, serving from 2010-2016. She has been the vice chair (2012), chair (2013-2015), past chair (2016) and has chaired numerous committees. She currently is chairing the 28th Annual Hospice of Lubbock Mayors’ Beans and Cornbread Luncheon and served in the same capacity in 2016. During her board tenure, she has been a member of the Development & Advocacy committee and helped raise funds for the 25th Anniversary Endowment Campaign, which resulted in a more than $1,000,000 endowment to support the mission of Hospice of Lubbock.

She and her husband John are partners with Evensky & Katz/Foldes Financial Wealth Management. They are avid supporters of community events, enjoy traveling, and love spending time with their Boston Terriers, Astro and Ranger.

Including Salter’s award, Hospice of Lubbock team members, physicians, and volunteers have been recognized for this top honor for the ninth time since 2012. She joins Bonnie Hunt – Volunteer of the Year (2012); Amber Maul, RN – Nurse of the Year (2012); Frank Ryburn, Jr., MD - Lifetime Achievement Award (2013); Jo Beth Edwards, RN - Nurse of the Year (2013); Elizabeth Abraham, MDiv. – Hospice Advocate Award (2014); LaLani Carter – Hospice Advocate Award (2015); Charley Wasson – Hospice Advocate Award (2015); and Melanie Oblender, MD – Hospice Advocate Award (2016).  Hospice of Lubbock was also named the first Hospice of the Year for 2015-2016.

(News release from Covenant Health)

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News