LCU to Compete at NCAA Division II Level

Lubbock Christian University received word Friday from the NCAA and they have been accepted into NCAA Division II candidacy.

The Chaparrals now begin the three-year process of transitioning to NCAA Division II affiliation from the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).  LCU will remain a member of the NAIA and the Sooner Athletic Conference for the 2012-13 season, followed by a two-year provisional period before gaining official NCAA Div. II status.

Lubbock Christian University will have all 11 varsity athletic programs transition to compete at the NCAA Div. II level.  LCU will participate as a member of the Heartland Conference, whose member presidents recently voted unanimously to approve LCU as one of 12 conference members, beginning the 2013-2014 academic year.  Also joining NCAA Div.II candidacy from the Sooner Athletic Conference and joining the Heartland Conference are Oklahoma Christian and Rogers State (Okla.).  They join current conference members Arkansas-Fort Smith, Dallas Baptist (Texas), McMurry (Texas), Newman (Kan.), Oklahoma Panhandle State, St. Edwards (Texas), St. Mary's (Texas), Texas A&M International, Texas Permian Basin.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News