Neslony Named Semi-Finalist for Gregg Olson Award

Published 05/31 2014 10:46PM

Updated 06/01 2014 12:02AM

MIAMI, Fla. (Texas Tech Press Release)– Texas Tech sophomore outfielder Tyler Neslony (Corpus Christi, Texas) is one of 36 players in the country named a semifinalist for the Gregg Olson Breakout Player of the Year Award, a national honor given to a top amateur baseball player who elevates his game to an elite level throughout the season.
Neslony is the only player from the Big 12 Conference and one of just five outfielders in the nation that are among the semifinalist.
Neslony leads all players in the Big 12 with a .412 batting average (56-for-136) with 27 runs, 12 doubles, four triples, four home runs (two grand slams), 31 RBI and has 16 walks with only 11 strikeouts with a .484 on-base percentage and .647 slugging percentage.
Neslony currently has a 19-game hit streak and has reached base safely in 31 consecutive games. His hit streak is the longest by a Red Raider since 2004 and is the longest by a Big 12 Conference player this season.
He began his collegiate career at Tech in 2013 as a freshman batting .227 (10-for-44) in 20 games (10 starts) with four doubles and seven RBI.
Neslony is the second Red Raider to be named a semifinalist for the award following last season when right-handed pitcher Trey Masek was selected during the award’s first season.
The award, presented by Toolshed Sports, is named after former Auburn star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All-American, first-round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and Major League Baseball All-Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.
Finalists for the award are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6 at the beginning of Super Regional action.
The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.