NCAA West Preliminary Qualifiers Announced

Published 05/22 2014 09:47PM

Updated 05/22 2014 09:48PM

LUBBOCK, Texas (Texas Tech Press Release) – Qualifiers for the NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Preliminary Championships were officially unveiled on Thursday afternoon.
The No. 5 Red Raiders, fresh off winning the Big 12 Outdoor Championships, will be represented by 25 entries in 13 events along with two relay teams, while the No. 14 Lady Raiders will be represented by 21 entries in 11 events and two relays at the NCAA West Preliminaries in Arkansas.
“I’m just so proud,” Texas Tech head coach Wes Kittley said. “It’s what I’ve been proud of all year – we’ve been a team.”
The three-day meet scheduled for May 29-31 in Fayetteville, serves as the first round of the NCAA Championships with the top-12 in each event advancing to the final rounds of the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore.
The NCAA also announced qualifiers for the men’s decathlon and women’s heptathlon to be contested June 11-12 as a final at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore. Junior Lady Raider Shanice Stewart, fresh off a runner-up performance at the Big 12 Championships, will compete for the Lady Raiders after tallying a career-best 5,674 points – second-most all time at Texas Tech. 
The No. 5 Red Raiders qualified three high jumpers, three pole vaulters, two long jumpers and Big Performer of Year Kennedy Kithuka in both the 5,000-meters and 10,000-meters for the NCAA West Preliminaries
The No. 14 Lady Raiders qualified seven athletes between the long jump and triple jump along with a group of four throwers. Also representing the Lady Raiders will be reigning 100m All-American Cierra White who finished sixth at the NCAA Championships in Eugene last year.
In all, Texas Tech qualified 17 athletes between the horizontal and vertical jumps including the trio of Bradley Adkins, JaCorian Duffield and Dayton Fisher who went 1-2-3 at the Big 12 High Jump Championship.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.