Evans Among Ten Naismith Trophy Semifinalists

Keenan Evans of the Texas Tech men’s basketball team is one of 10 players to be listed as a semifinalist for the Citizen Naismith Trophy announced Wednesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Evans is joined by Devonte’ Graham (Kansas) and Trae Young (Oklahoma) from the Big 12. The three Big 12 players are the most for any conference. Former Texas Tech All-American Andre Emmett was named a Top 20 Finalist for the Naismith Trophy in 2003-04.

Evans has garnered 17.2 points, 3.3 assists and 1.3 steals per game. The 17.2 points per game are third on the Big 12 leaderboard. Texas Tech has won nine of 10 games this season and 15 of 19 games overall when Evans goes for 20 or more points.

Evans is one of seven players in program history to amass 1,400 career points, 300 career rebounds, 300 career assists and 100 career steals. The list includes Sean Gay, Jarrius Jackson, John Roberson, Jason Sasser, Rayford Young and Martin Zeno. His 1,437 career points are 17th, while his 326 assists are 10th on the program’s all-time rankings.

The list of 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy will be trimmed down to a group of four finalists which will be released in mid-March.

After the four finalists are announced, fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player by visiting www.NaismithTrophy.com/vote between March 19-30. The fan component counts for five percent of the final vote. The 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 1 during the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio. 

Citizen Naismith Trophy Top 10 Semifinalists
Name, School

Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Keita Bates-Diop, Ohio State
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas
Jock Landale, Saint Mary's
Trae Young, Oklahoma 

(Courtesy: Texas Tech Sports Communications Department)

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News