District 19: Jodey Arrington wins reelected to the U.S. House of Representatives

Local News

Jodey Arrington (left) and Tom Watson (right)
(Nexstar Media Group/EverythingLubbock.com File Photo)

LUBBOCK, Texas — Based on election results Tuesday evening, Republican incumbent Representative Jodey Arrington won reelection to Texas’s 13th Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

His challengers were Democrat Tom Watson and Libertarian Joe Burnes.

With 90 percent of the precincts reporting, Arrington had roughly 74.84 percent of the vote, Watson had 23.01 percent and Burnes had 2.15 percent.

Arrington has held the congressional seat since 2017.

Texas’s 19th Congressional District covers portions of the South Plains, Permian Basin, Big County and western North Texas.

The district covers the following counties: Bailey, Border, Castro, Cochran, Crosby, Fisher, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Haskell, Hockley, Howard, Jones, Kent, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Nolan, Parmer, Scurry, Shackelford, Stonewall, Taylor, Terry Throckmorton, Yoakum and Young  Parts of Floyd and Stephens County are also included in the district.

Principal cities in the district include Lubbock, Abilene and Big Spring.

After he was projected as the winner, Arrington released a statement.

“I am immensely honored and grateful that so many of my fellow West Texans have once again placed their confidence in me to serve and represent them in our nation’s capital,” Arrington said. “It is a privilege I am passionate about and take very seriously; and on behalf of my family and from the very bottom of our hearts, we thank you.”

(BigCountryHomepage.com and YourBasin.com contributed to this article.)

(EDITORS NOTE: Vote percentages shown are from the Texas Secretary of State website)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

News Highlights

More News Highlights

Don't Miss

Event Calendar