Texas Tech Coach Chris Beard named AP Coach of the Year

Local News

ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA – MARCH 30: Head coach Chris Beard of the Texas Tech Red Raiders cuts the net after defeating the Gonzaga Bulldogs during the 2019 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament West Regional at Honda Center on March 30, 2019 in Anaheim, California. (Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images)

On Thursday, the post-season accolades continued to roll in as Texas Tech coach Chris Beard was named the Associated Press Coach of the Year. 

Over the past season, Beard has led the Texas Tech men’s basketball team to a 30-6 record, back-to-back Elite Eight appearances, and the program’s first berth into the Final Four. 

Beard is the first Texas Tech basketball coach to receive the award since the AP started awarding it in 1967. 

During the 2018-2019 season, he was also named the Big 12 Coach of the Year and the USBWA District VII Coach of the Year. 

Over three seasons, Beard has an overall record of 73-30. 

Texas Tech is set to face Michigan State in the Final Four on Saturday, April 6 at 7:49 p.m. in Minneapolis, Minnesota at US Bank Stadium. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local News

News Highlights

More News Highlights

Don't Miss

Event Calendar