Volunteers Honored at United Way Annual Meeting

Local News
Lubbock Area United Way Logo - 720

More than 450 volunteers and supporters gathered today at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center for Lubbock Area United Way’s Annual Meeting.

Betty Dotts was honored with the Rita Harmon Volunteer Service Award.  The award has been presented each year since 1993 to honor deserving individuals for a lifetime of community service. Dotts has been active in the Lubbock community for more than 40 years. She has advocated for many causes and also founded the benevolence ministry at St. John’s United Methodist Church in 1985 to distribute food vouchers to those in need.

“Betty has always been a great friend and volunteer for Lubbock Area United Way and the work of its community partners.  We know that she has been a volunteer in the special gifts division of the annual campaign for at least 23 years, but we all believe it has been longer than that.,” stated Doug Hensley, former United Way Board Chair and award presenter. “She continues volunteering for United Way in that role to this day.”

Amber Dean, 2016 Campaign Chair, announced that $6,044,019 was contributed to help support United Way’s 23 Community Partners that serve Lubbock and the surrounding area. This was the first time a goal of more than $6 million was set and is the largest amount ever raised in the Annual Campaign.

Tony Lloyd and Moe Evans were recognized as Campaign Volunteers of the Year.  For several years they have taken numerous days from their real estate business to grill burgers for the players in the LIVE UNITED Golf Tournament as well as donate large cookouts that have been auctioned at the tournament.  Lloyd and Evans also assisted in the Annual Campaign by volunteering with the Real Estate, Corporate and Special Gifts Divisions.

The Agency Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Clarke Cochran in recognition of his 10 years as a volunteer for the American Red Cross on the South Plains. During that time he has been on dozens of fire calls, often in the middle of the night, to ensure that those who have lost so much have someone there to give them support and make sure their basic needs are met.

Other items on the annual meeting agenda included the election of new directors and officers to the Board of Directors.  Brad Moran was elected 2017 Board Chair and Jon Stephens was named the 2017 Campaign Chair.

Other officers for 2017 will be: Board Vice-Chair Tony Lloyd, Treasurer Marsha Teichelman, Agency Review Chair Bill Howerton, Community Impact Chair Tony Peña, Marketing and Communications Chair Meredith Imes, and Planned Giving and Endowment Chair Brent Hoffman.

Seven people were named as new members to the Board of Directors: Doug Hensley, Beth Lawson, A.J. Martinez, Allison Matherly, Chelsea Salazar, Dr. Amy Thompson, and Nathaniel Wright, Ph.D.

The 2016 Annual Report was released and is available online at www.liveunitedlubbock.org or at the United Way Office.

Since 1946, Lubbock Area United Way has conducted annual fundraising campaigns to support local nonprofit agencies.  During that time more than $170 million has been contributed and used to support United Way’s mission of Giving • People • Hope.

Lubbock Area United Way’s 23 Community Partners work daily in the Lubbock community to assist people with needs such as affordable child care, crisis situations, character development, adult literacy, job training, and youth mentoring. A complete list of the Community Partners and the services they provide can be found online at www.liveunitedlubbock.org.

(News release from United Way)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local News

News Highlights

More News Highlights

Don't Miss

Event Calendar