Governor Abbott honors Texas Peace Officers at memorial ceremony

State & Regional
Abbott Honors Texas Peace Officers at Memorial Ceremony (20190 - 720

LUBBOCK, Texas (NEWS RELEASE) – The following is a news release from Office of Texas Governor Greg Abbott:

Governor Greg Abbott [on Monday] delivered remarks at the 2019 Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony in Austin. The Governor honored fallen Texas peace officers and their families and thanked the men and women of law enforcement for their commitment and sacrifice to keeping their communities safe. Following his remarks, the Governor presented medals commemorating the officers’ service to the families of the fallen peace officers who were recognized during the ceremony.

“Today, we join the families of fallen officers in mourning the tragic loss of life, but we also join them in celebrating their lives and the lasting impact they had on their communities and fellow officers,” said Governor Abbott. “I thank the men and women of law enforcement for their commitment to protecting and serving our communities. It is a duty that requires courage, selflessness, long hours, and sleepless nights. Despite the challenges and the risks, each and every one of them answered the call, and for that, we are eternally grateful.”

During the 85th Legislative Session, Governor Abbott signed House Bill 3647, which established the Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony as an annual event. This year’s ceremony was the second to be held since the passing of the law.

The following fallen officers were honored at this year’s ceremony:

  • Chief Lonnie V. Burton – Wayland Baptist University Police Department
  • Deputy Sheriff Mark A. Cox – Real County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Jarrod K. Friddle – Cumby Police Department
  • Senior Corporal Earl J. Givens, III – Dallas Police Department
  • Deputy Inspector General Richard W. Hale – Texas Juvenile Justice Department, Office of the Inspector General
  • Corporal Garrett W. Hull – Fort Worth Police Department
  • Deputy Sheriff Raymond Bradley Jimmerson – Nacagdoches County Sheriff’s Office
  • Senior Special Agent Scott Ragsdale – U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
  • Officer Rogelio Santander, Jr. – Dallas Police Department
  • Officer David C. Sherrard – Richardson Police Department
  • Deputy Sheriff Loren Y. Vasquez – Waller County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Charles M. Whites, Jr. – Round Rock Police Department
  • Federal Agent Kristopher D. Youngberg – U.S. Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration, Office of Secure Transportation

(News release from the Office of Texas Governor Greg Abbott)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local News

News Highlights

More News Highlights

Don't Miss

Event Calendar